Malval table – Kits & Bits

As every hobby project, the story begins with some shopping on the internet to find the key scenery pieces and bits. Here is my initial selection for the Mordheim table project.

Ruined Basilica

I wanted a central piece of scenery that could be used for highly narrative games. And when I found out this Roman ruined church kit from Fenryll, I knew I found what I needed.

In term of scale, once assembled, the kit was a little bit smaller than expected (this is true 28mm, not heroic 32mm) but still I was very happy with it.

A scheme and guidelines are provided in the box to facilitate the assembly but I have to mention that gluing was quite challenging because of the nature of the resin used. After the assembly I broke a few parts and I think I will have to pin them eventually.

Doors & Windows

For this project, I’m planning to mainly use commercial resin building kits, essentially to save time, but I also wanted  to make a few homemade buildings to give the table a unique feel.

For this purpose, I bought various sets of windows and doors from Antenocitis Workshop  and Thomarillon. Both shops are great places for any enthusiastic scenery makers, I highly recommend them!

Stairs

The table will be divided in three levels (-1 underground, 0 ground, +1 upstair) and thus it was critical from the start to identify how the miniatures could go from one level to another. For this purpose, I basically choose two type of stairs: wooden and stone stairs.

The wooden stairs are from Thomarillon. This is a laser-cut MDF kit. The assembly is tricky but in the end, they look great and price is very competitive.

For the stone stairs, I went with the Hirst Arts Mold #60. They look very nice and the parts are very modular so you have a great freedom to make your stair unique. The only drawback is that you have to spend some times molding each part.

Ruined Village

As mentioned previously, I decided to use a commercial resin kit for the majority of the ruined buildings as I didn’t want to spend to much time on this project (and yet ^^).

The ruined kit I selected is the Damaged Village set from Escenorama. From my point of view, this is one of the best resin kit for a medieval ruined city and thus for a Mordheim table! The kits prices are very competitive, especially if you buy them in bulk and the level of details is great even if this is not as detailed as the Tabletop-World’s kits. On the other hand, the scale of Escenorama’s kit is perfectly right with the usual GW’s miniatures (which unfortunately is not the case with the significant lower scale of the Tabletop-World’s buildings).

Some people will say that Escenorama’s buildings are a little bit repetitive and this is true if you use them as is. But if you customize them with a few additional walls here and there, you easily distinguish each building. The buildings on the pictures below show you the end result I got.

So what do you think of these choices? I would love to hear in the comments your recommendations for kits that would fit this Mordheim table project.

Have a nice day,

Kibo

6 thoughts on “Malval table – Kits & Bits

  1. The village looks great – what is the material they use and the weight of the pieces? It appears like resin, but I can’t see details on their site. I fear for us out this side of the world that the shipping would be excessive, and that they would not remove the VAT (as I’ve found that too many European businesses like to keep it as a special 20% bonus for dealing with out-of-EU customers while charging full shipping costs!)

    Like

    1. Yes, the ruins are in resin (2 components polyurethane). The full damaged village is quite heavy, maybe 4-8kg. I know the VAT thing is a real pain, it’s the same for Tabletop worlds building kits…

      Like

Leave a Reply

