How to make purity seals Trophies

Hello,

As you may or may not know, I really enjoy making trophies for the wargame tournaments or conventions I attend or organize. Today I’ve decided to share with you the step-by-step making of the trophies I made for the convention Medal of Colors that we organized with my friend Rémi, a few weeks ago. Here is the link to the article about this event with a few pics. As this event was a convention and not a tournament, the five trophies were not linked to any ranking after the battles. Instead the five trophies were more hobby oriented: 1) best looking army, 2) best painted mini, 3) best customized mini, 4) judges’ favorite and 5) most respectful of the fluff.
Since the event was called “Medal of Colors”, we wanted something that will remind the military medal feelings. We ended up making them look like Space Marines purity seals because we thought it was kind of the gothic version of a military medal.

Step 1. Scheme and planning


Every time I start a new project, I try to make a quick drawing of what I’m targeting in the end. That’s the best way to anticipate potential issues during the making and to find the right sizes for the final object.

Step 2. Priming and pre-shading


First step was a quick preshading of white and black primers over the poker chips I used as bases for the seals.

Step 3. Color layers


I then applied a layer of gold or red over the preshaded chips.

Step 4. Wood support cutting


I cut the wood stick using a mitre box in order to be as precise as possible

The wood part will be the support of the purity seal.

Step 5. Wood support priming

I painted the wood supports in black using a black paint can I bought in a  DIY store (no need for fancy hobby paints here). The black will give a nice nice contrast to the purity seals.

The last step was to print the strips of the purity seals over an artificially aged paper.

Step 6. Strips printing and aging

And voila, five homemade purity seals for less than 15$. Can’t beat that I guess.

What do you think of these trophies? Do you have any other idea for the next ones?

Kibo

2 thoughts on “How to make purity seals Trophies

Leave a Reply

